Terribleminds Flash Fic Challenge – “Sydney”

The challenge this week was to write a story in only 100 words. I saw it right after browsing Petfinder, looking at dogs I knew I couldn’t adopt. This story is inspired by this little guy. If you are in the MD/DC/VA/WV/PA area and are in the market for a dog and decide to adopt Sydney, please let me know.

Sydney was nine. He’d only chewed up one of the little plastic men, but that was enough. He knew what the car coming up the drive meant. He had to go away again. They got to the strange house. The strange woman led him up a strange path through a strange door. He started to shake.

“I know, little guy,” she said. “It’s been a rough day.”

She knelt down and he sniffed her hand. Then she reached into a bag with her other hand and pulled out a bone.

“Maybe this will help,” she said.

2 thoughts on “Terribleminds Flash Fic Challenge – “Sydney”

Leave a comment